National Academy of Sciences of Ukraine:

The National Academy of Sciences of Ukraine was founded November 27, 1918 in the Kiev.

The initiative to create the Academy of Sciences for the first time by the Ukrainian Scientific Society in April 1917 in Kiev. However, this idea was implemented in 1918 by the Government of the Ukrainian state headed by Hetman Skoropadskyi.

The first president of the Academy of Sciences was an outstanding scientist of the world V.I .Vernadskyi.

The National Academy of Sciences of Ukraine is the highest state scientific organization of Ukraine, which unites full members, corresponding members and foreign members, all scientists of institutions, organizes and carries out fundamental and applied research on major problems of natural, technical and humanities sciences.

There are 3 sections in the NAS of Ukraine (physical, technical and mathematical sciences; chemical and biological sciences; social and humanities sciences), bringing together 14 departments: mathematics; computer science; mechanics; physics and astronomy; Earth sciences; physical and technical problems of materials; physical and technical problems of energy; nuclear physics and energy; chemistry; biochemistry, physiology and molecular biology; general biology; economy; history, philosophy and law; literature, language and art.


Institute of Electrodinamics of NAS of Ukraine:

The history of the Institute of Electrodynamics (IED) of NAS of Ukraine associated with the creation in 1939 the Institute of Energy, the main research trends in the field of efficiency and reliability of electric power systems formed the basis of scientific activities of the institute. In 1947 on its basis the Institute of Electrical Engineering was created, which have been renamed in 1963 in the Institute of Electrodynamics of NAS of Ukraine.

Formally Institute of Electrodynamics is the part of the Department of Physical-Technical Problems of Power Engineering of National Academy of Sciences of Ukraine. Currently Department includes 11 institutes of NAS of Ukraine. The Academician of NAS of Ukraine Oleksandr Kyrylenko is current head of the Department. 



Olexandr O. Kyrylenko

Director of the Institute of Electrodynamics of NAS of Ukraine, Academician of the National Academy of Sciences of Ukraine (2006), Winner of the Lebedev’s Prize of NAS of Ukraine (1995), laureate of the State Prize of Ukraine in Science and Technology (1999), Honored Worker of Science of Ukraine (2008), winner of the "Leader of Fuel & Energy Complex 2009" in the "Academic". 


National Technical University of Ukraine “Igor Sikorsky Kyiv Polytechnic Institute”:

Igor Sikorsky Kyiv Polytechnic Institute was founded in 1898 consisting 4 branches: mechanical, agricultural, engineering and chemical. The basis of the system of higher technical education was a combination of deep natural sciences, basic training in physics, mathematics, chemistry and other disciplines with general engineering and obtain professional and practical skills in production and scientific institutions.

With time-based Igor Sikorsky Kyiv Polytechnic Institute was in 12 universities in many regions of Ukraine, 9 of which have national status today.

Today Igor Sikorsky Kyiv Polytechnic Institute is the largest technical university of Ukraine research type universities, one of the leading universities in Europe and world. It has about 30,000 students, including foreign students. It consists of 30 teaching and research departments (10 institutes and 20 departments), 8 scientific research centers, 12 research institutes , 14 research centers and 1 design bureau.

One of the first universities in Ukraine Igor Sikorsky Kyiv Polytechnic Institute in September 2003, joined the Commonwealth universities who signed the "Magna Charta of Universities' Europe (" Magna Charta Universitatum").

Developments Igor Sikorsky Kyiv Polytechnic Institute annually celebrated State Prize of Ukraine in Science and Technology.

In April, 2007 the Board of Education of Ukraine, it was decided to provide Igor Sikorsky Kyiv Polytechnic Institute research university status, the Charter is approved by the Cabinet of Ministers of Ukraine of 21.11.2007, № 1332. Cabinet of Ministers of Ukraine of 03.02.2010 № 76 Igor Sikorsky Kyiv Polytechnic Institute given the status of self-governing (autonomous) research national university.


Yuriy I. Yakymenko

First vice-rector of NTUU “KPI”,Academician of National Academy of Sciences of Ukraine, Academician of the International Academy of the higher schools, triple winner of the State Prize in Science and Technology, Doctor of Technical Sciences, Head of the Department of Microelectronics, the first KPI vice-rector. 


Representative office of Polish Academy of Sciences in Kyiv

Representation of Polish Academy operates in Kyiv since August 2013. Since the first days of its activity it has been cooperating with Igor Sikorsky Kyiv Polytechnic Institute. Since the very beginning, the manager of Representation, professor Sobchuk was involved into the series of university projects that rose to international fame with the Polish financial support. First of all this support consists in the International conference “Pure water. Fundamental, applied and industrial aspects”, that will be hold this year for the 4th time and conventional International scientific and practical conference “Renewable power industry and energy efficiency in 21st century” etc. With the assistance of Polish Academy in 2014 there was published a book about famous graduate of Igor Sikorsky Kyiv Polytechnic Institute of 1906 written by famous physicist and chemist, professor Wojciech Swietoslawski “Wojciech Swietoslawski – a person who brings Ukraine and Poland together”. Moreover, without assistance from Poland there would be no a Polish scientist and public official monument at the territory of Igor Sikorsky Kyiv Polytechnic Institute.